top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturenot-so-perfect

Stop Putting Too Much Pressure On Yourself

Updated: Apr 6, 2020

Your self-help guide to helping you release pressure, relax and add some self-care into your daily routine.

I am more than guilty of putting too much pressure on myself, not having the right balance of work/social/self-care and not looking after myself physically, emotionally and mentally as much as I should. Whether it's setting myself unrealistic expectations regarding university work, over-thinking the future - interviews, career, questioning if I'm good enough to become a teacher or forgetting to take the time to self-discipline by stopping whatever I'm doing just 30 minutes earlier to sit and eat a proper meal, take a bath or even just watch a programme so my brain, mind and body have some time to recuperate.


Below are a few websites that talk about how to refrain from putting too much pressure on yourself:

 

Self-discipline is a huge factor in making sure you are getting the correct balance and this motivational video featuring Will Smith talks about the importance and purpose of self-discipline...

"Self-discipline is the definition of self-love" - Will Smith
"You can't win the war against the world if you can't win the war against your own mind" - Will Smith
 

Music is a tool that many people use to reflect their current mood and there are endless playlists on Spotify, Apple music, whichever app you may use for music, that are full of relaxation songs, songs to make you feel happy, songs to meditate too. If you have never tried breathing exercises/meditation as a tool to winddown - I highly recommend giving it a go! It isn't for everyone and you may need to practice them for several days/weeks before you see benefits but there are plenty of apps that are available to guide you through daily breathing exercises and meditation. Here are a few apps that I use that help me:

- Headspace

- Clear Fear

- Calm

- Rootd

- Buddhify


A lot of the time, my anxiety can get the better of me and like anyone, I have my own techniques and ways of winding down, relaxing and just taking some time to breathe. What works for me, may not work for somebody else who feels the same so the best thing you can do is try different techniques and see what works for you.


Some of the ways I like to practice self-care is to draw, doodle, write about how I feel, watch my favourite film, listen to music, read a book or even something as simple as taking a shower, making the bed or tidying my room.


Here is a list of books that I have read in which helped me see things in a different perspective and helped me realise that I was not on my own:

- Fearne Cotton - Happy

- Fearne Cotton - Calm

- Fearne Cotton - Quiet

- Matt Haig - Notes on a nervous planet

- Matt Haig - Reasons to stay alive

- DR Russ Harns - The Confidence Gap


Along with the books, I have also made a list of my Top 10 songs that relax me/make me happy:

1. Gentle Storm - Elbow

2. Mr. Blue Sky - Electric Light Orchestra

3. Dakota - Stereophonics

4. Compass- The Neighbourhood

5. Pink + White - Frank Ocean

6. Adorn - Miguel

7. Help me Lost my Mind - Disclosure, London Grammar

8. When Doves Cry - Prince

9. Signed, Sealed, Delivered (I'm Yours) - Stevie Wonder

10. Come Together - Michael Jackson


I found that one thing that greatly helps me is to have a notebook/journal dedicated to your self-care. Write down your favourite songs/playlists to listen to depending on different moods, things to read, a list of activities that you know help you to take a break. The journal can include absolutely anything that helps you: mood boards, poems, wish-lists, gratitude's - anything at all.


I hope this blog helped even a tiny bit and you continue to practice your own self-help as much as or as little as you want. Take care of yourselves. Always make sure you are surrounded by positivity and making yourself and your mental-health a priority.


"Look at your last five text messages - are those people feeding your flames or dousing your fire" - Will Smith




10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page